Tuesday 10- A Timeline of Family Cars

I love car shows. When I was young, I thought it would be fun to own 50 different cars in my lifetime. Then, we started our family and…..!

Here’s a brief timeline of our family cars, some sensible, some not so much:

1. Mustang- When my wife and I got married she owned a 1967 navy blue Fort Mustang, “4 on the floor”. She often mentions how she wishes she still had that car. Once we moved to Colorado, it seemed that we should sell it and buy a…

2. Blazer- What says “Colorado” more than a 1972 Blue Chevy Blazer with removable hard top, back up soft top, and manual 4-wheel drive?! From there we moved on to a…

3. BMW- We were young, free, and had great jobs so we decided to buy a “beamer” the year they came out with the 320i (1975). Maroon, fast, and with a sun roof. We were living the good life! Then the family began and we purchased a…

4. Fiat 128- So we were pregnant with our first child and needed a sensible and affordable 4-door sedan. It was yellow so our next door neighbor called it “the lemon.” It was marketed as a “small family car”…great gas mileage in an age where big cars were still king. And next an old friend came back into my life…

5. Buick- The car with the longest history in our family. When I was in high school and college, I would borrow the ’65 Buick Special convertible from my mother for special occasion dates. My parents moved to Texas in 1974 and it remained there until my wife and I needed a second car. We flew down to Dallas and brought it back to Fort Collins in 1976. Eventually my folks joined us in Fort Collins and we gave the car back to them with a new convertible top in 1979. They moved on to Omaha and the Buick became our two oldest daughters’ high school car. By the time daughter #3 started driving, my wife didn’t trust the safety of the lap seat belts and the size of the car was pretty overwhelming, so she made me sell it. A nice man in California is driving my Buick. Now onto the 80’s…

6. Alpha Romeo Spider, 1980- This was a “spur of the moment” purchase after our first daughter was born. The Fiat was too benign, so I purchased this smart little car from a friend in Denver. But it was hard showing property in a sports car and my wife became too pregnant with our second daughter to drive it comfortably. So we upgraded to extra space…

7. New Yorker, early 80’s- Now that was a nice car for real estate. Luxurious with comfortable leather seats. It even “talked” with Chrysler’s voice alert. Our oldest daughter was 4 years old and every time the car ran through its dialogue “please fasten your seat belts,” “thank you,” “your headlights are on,” “don’t forget your keys”, she would laugh. Her favorite was “the door is ajar,” and she would reply, “the door is NOT a jar!” We changed cars for one that didn’t talk…

8. Mercedes- This was short-termed. We went through two used, blue Mercedes sedans. Great for when the girls were little, but then daughter #3 was born and the sedans could no longer hold two adults, three children, and the family dog. So we purchased the quintessential family car…

9. Minivans- Big difference from the sports car, but worth it for our growing family and pets. We went through a whole series of Chrysler Minivans. They were necessary for our frequent trips back to Omaha to take care of aging and ailing parents. The apple red minivan even perished in Fort Collins’ famous flood in 1997. The Buick was in the shop (as usual) so our oldest daughter drove the van to the movies on West Elizabeth. By the time the movie ended, water was waist-high on Elizabeth Street. She and her friend headed south on Shields and got stopped at the rushing water of Spring Creek. Firemen had to rescue them. Thankfully she wasn’t driving the low Buick with its convertible top. And to our current generation of cars…

10. Toyotas- My wife and I LOVE our Toyota Hybrids. I have a comfortable and roomy Highlander that seats seven people or one dog with five people (Baci gets the entire back seat). It has been the perfect car for helping our daughters move from place to place. My wife converted to a Camry Hybrid after her Saab (a few hundred thousand miles old), broke down yet again and kept belching blue smoke. The Saab was my car, then hers, then my youngest daughter’s, then my oldest daughter’s, then hers again. It was a zippy workhouse!

Check out the Road Nights Car Club, www.roadknightscarclub.com Aug 28, 29, 30 for a little extra dreaming.

What are your favorite cars you’ve ever owned?

Leave a Reply

